Posted in Uncategorized

LETS TALK NEAD !

I often talk about FND and how it affects me but one thing I don’t really talk about is NEAD; I have been told that the two tend to go hand in hand.

I was diagnosed with NEAD approximately a 2 years after being diagnosed with FND. I started having these weird attacks as to say, my body would start shaking uncontrollably and would look like an epileptic attack (pretty damn scary if you ask me). I just put it down to being part of FND and speaking to other FND warriors I found that I wasn’t alone, which in a way is kind of a relief.

The only thing that scares me the most with NEAD is other people, quite rightly so people will panic because to others it looks exactly like a epileptic fit so with that in find, when I meet new people I give them a bit of a warning of what can happen when it comes to FND, NEAD and me and tell them its ok no need to panic. I find one of the best things is to ignore what is happening, don’t pay it attention because it’s like a naughty child, once you pay it the attention it will carry on for a while (haha good theory right).

I have only had a “seizure” last about 3mins MAX ! (touch wood), however a couple of weeks ago was the first time I had 5 in one day (scary ill admit) but they were only lasting any where from 30seconds to 2mins (few).

I think NEAD is one of those hard ones for people to get around, I was told it wasn’t effecting my brain and an ambulance doesn’t need to be called, (unless of course it last 5minutes or more). Friend’s and Family now know what to do If it happens in front of them which is handy, so if you have NEAD, FND or any other condition that effects you I can honestly say to help you and to help you feel a lot more at ease, teach those around you about how your condition effects you, I remember when I was first diagnosed with FND by the neurologist I gave my GP a leaflet on how it effects me also my dentist (I must admit they were took back at first but then was very grateful as they had never heard of FND).

Do you have NEAD? If so let me know how it effects you as we are all different 🙂

P.S 3 more days until Christmas ho ho ho

Peace Out !

Ciao, Adios, Bon Voyage

xxx

Author:

Im 26, live in Portsmouth UK. (Nice place, take a visit) .... I enjoy most things, travel, photographing and of course writing. Funny things happen around me all the time so why not turn into something.....I like to inspire others and give people hope I guess. I was diagnosed with FND and still continuing the FND journey. Climb aboard and join me 🌍

Leave a comment