Posted in Believe In You, FND, life

Backwards or Forwards?

Good morning you lovely bunch !!!

Today I’m going to share with you more about my Neurogym sessions that I must say kill me every week but it should all be worth it in the end.

Each week I have approx 1hr … (most of the time over and 1hr) with a Neurogym Therapist to help with FND. We have discovered that the muscle in my right leg is very tight so plenty of stretches is needed but also my balance is practically non-existent.

I feel that I have come a long was since falling down those stairs and being shoved from pillar to post, but at my most recent Neurogym session I felt pushed right back. I worked extremely hard to get off of the leg splint and back to walking again as “normal” as I could; so when I arrived for my next session at the gym I wasn’t expecting to be walking out with something back on my leg again.

I had Orthotics come to my session to analyse my walk and just to try to understand my symptoms a little more I suppose. If you have been following from the beginning of my blog then you will know about my right foot but for those who haven’t, I’ll fill you in. (After I fell I was unable to feel the bottom of my right foot, it started to turn inwards and there was pretty much nothing I could do about it. I was diagnosed with drop foot (eventually) and that’s where the leg splints come in.)

So yeah that crazy shit happened and I cant feel a thing, I have been so tempted to get a tattoo on the bottom of my foot but knowing my luck part way through the session my feeling will come back and Ill be in agony haha.

After watching my walk and talking to me about my condition and the shit I go through with it; she decided that I need to go back on to something. Its not exactly a splint but it will (and does) help me on days where my legs don’t have any strength to pick up my foot, so rather than it dragging behind me this gadget picks up my foot without me realising. (quite clever really).

20190730_182341

 

As you can imagine I feel as though I have gone backwards not forwards but at least I don’t need to wear it all the time like before. My Neuro Therapist insisted I am not going backwards I am just aiding myself to go forwards that further more but to me I feel like I did 3 years ago when they first took my leg back out of that cast and straight into a plastic leg splint.

 

The Neurogym session are good but they really do take all the energy I have for that day and most of the time I come home and go to sleep because

A) I am shattered

And

B) I am in agony

I know what your thinking shouldn’t these sessions be helping you not giving you more pain. Well I know where your coming from and to be honest I thought exactly the same thing but I have improved and it is working to a certain extent. My balance is still piss poor but not looking at the ground when I’m walking is coming on really well and the amount of time I can exercise for has increased from 1min per activity to 2min. (yay go me, Olympics next year haha )

If your out and about and you see me with this gadget on my foot then you know its a bad day.

As much as I feel like having this i’m going backwards, in time i will be going forwards because of it. (I keep telling myself).

 

Peace Out.

Ciao, Adios, Bon Voyage.

 

Xx

 

 

 

 

Author:

Im 26, live in Portsmouth UK. (Nice place, take a visit) .... I enjoy most things, travel, photographing and of course writing. Funny things happen around me all the time so why not turn into something.....I like to inspire others and give people hope I guess. I was diagnosed with FND and still continuing the FND journey. Climb aboard and join me 🌍

Leave a comment